Any ads for penny auctions by Google do not signify endorsement, legitimacy, that you will win or anything else. Bid at your own risk.
 

Monday, October 5, 2009

iPennybid is Now BidVoo

by Amanda Lee on October 5, 2009

Share on TwitterShare on TumblrSubmit to StumbleUponDigg ThisSubmit to redditShare via email

Remember iPennybid? We received a legal threat, many negative comments from unhappy iPennyBid bidders and found out that iPennyBid required scans of bidders driver’s licenses. Now iPennyBid is gone and the offline message reads:

“Due to licensing reasons, iPennyBid.com is no longer available in your country. We will post more information when available.”

Licensing reasons? Please look at our past posts and read all of the comments we’ve received regarding iPennyBid.

We received a comment today from a reader who says it looks like the new penny auction site BidVoo.com which is scheduled to open in 2 weeks could possibly be iPennyBid:

“I am a victim of ipennybid. I found out about 2 or 3 times the same bidder bid 5 even 8,9 times continuously without any other bidder following. it bidded by himself. I think the autoprogam may go wrong. And please check out the site bidvoo.com, it’s exectly same as ipennybid (see FAQ). When you type bidvoo.com it comes ca.bidvoo.com (ca means Canada), but it’s located in Los Angeles. Another scam.”

bidvoo incipennybidofflineThe footer of BidVoo’s site tells us that BidVoo is a corporation “BidVoo, Inc.” They also list an unpublished cell phone number based in Los Angeles (323) 892-0860.  A quick business search on the California Secretary of State website for registered corporations shows that there are no matches for Bidvoo in their system.

Here’s the registrant information.

And the domain services for BidVoo & iPennyBid are the same, provided by Zentek International:

What is Zentek International?

“We are a fully Offshore Hosting Services Provider based in Hong Kong, the financial and telecommunications center of Asia, with the freest economy in the World (including very low level of government involvement in business activities, and very low level of restrictions, intervention, and regulation).”

Surely an invalid corporation based in the USA should have nothing to hide?

Registrant:
   Bidvoo, Inc.
   4365 Lincoln Blvd
   Marina del Rey
   Los Angeles, CA  90292
   US

   Registrar: DOTSTER
   Domain Name: BIDVOO.COM
      Created on: 27-SEP-09
      Expires on: 28-SEP-10
      Last Updated on: 28-SEP-09

   Administrative, Technical Contact:
      Irwin, David  [email protected]
      Bidvoo, Inc.
      4365 Lincoln Blvd
      Marina del Rey
      Los Angeles, CA  90292
      US
      310-337-1465 It looks like Mr. "Irwin" uses the fax number for Atlas Rent a Car in Inglewood, CA.
      3103371467 And Apollo Courier of Inglewood, CA.
And does 4365 Lincoln Blvd. even exist?
bidvoo inc scam
It doesn't seem to, Lincoln Blvd is full of car lots and car rental companies:
penny auction fraud

Here’s why it looks like BidVoo is iPennyBid:

  • Both sites are currently offline.
  • Both use the Plimus payment gateway.
  • And they both have subdomains that redirect to your country: us.ipennybid.com, us.bidvoo.com,
  • Both have pages on “Responsible Bidding.”
  • And here’s the kicker: Both sites have very similar IP addresses and files are hosted on the same webhost company.

BidVoo’s source code links to SevernStream’s IP Address 205.234.213.179: Whereas iPennyBid links to the same site by name:

http://www.severnstream.com/client/848442//themed/ipennybid/img/logo.gif 
ipennybid source
http://205.234.213.179/S3465//themed/bidvoo/img/logo.png 
ipennybid source

An IP search on selfseo.com shows that both penny auction websites have very similar IP addresses.
The IP address of www.bidvoo.com is 120.50.40.249
The IP address 120.50.40.249 is assigned to  France
The IP address of www.ipennybid.com is 120.50.40.155
The IP address 120.50.40.155 is assigned to  France

bidvoo ip addressbidvoo ip address

Here’s a screenshot of both BidVoo and iPennyBid from Google’s Cache:

bidvooscamcloneipennybid cache

The descriptions are also exactly the same:bidvoo scam

So there you have it iPennyBid had too many unhappy customers and decided to change its name to BidVoo. Don’t you find it odd that BidVoo shows ended auctions already yet they’re not even open yet?


{ 11 comments }

Nick Lachey’s Winnit Blog

October 5, 2009

Nick Lachey of the reverse auction site Winnit.com will be blogging over on OK magazine for the next 11 days as he hand delivers Winnit wins. Winnit even has a bright yellow “Everybody Wins” tour bus. One Penny Auction Watch member won a Louis Vuitton handbag. Have you won on Winnit? Discuss it in the [...]

Read the full article→

Penny Auction for a Celebrity

October 5, 2009

That’s right, not only is there a penny auction (lowest unique bid auction) run by a celebrity. Penny auction site PoshBid is auctioning off a date with a celebrity. “Once in a lifetime opportunity to Date Vh1`s Rock of Love and Charm School Reality Super Star Ashley. Place your bids to participate on a “Celebrity [...]

Read the full article→

New Win Limits at RockyBid

October 5, 2009

New win limits go into effect today on RockyBid: 5 auctions valued about $200 5 auctions valued below $200 1 featured item 3 “Free Bid” auctions per week What do you think of Rocky Bid’s win limits? Share your opinions in the entertainment shopping forum.

Read the full article→