Penny Auction Guide Site RitBid.com Possibly Linked to TummyBid.com

by Amanda Lee on April 25, 2010

Share on TwitterShare on TumblrSubmit to StumbleUponDigg ThisSubmit to redditShare via email

Update: 4/27/10 TummyBid.com has e-mailed us to tell us that they are not the same owners as Ritbid/reetbid.com, they just purchased their penny auction site from the now closed ReetBid.com. We’ll be watching.

How would you like it if you could order pizza from a penny auction site? The new penny auction TummyBid.com looks like it’s going to be allowing bidders in the United Kingdom to do just that.

However, what is a bit concerning to us is that the only place we are able to find TummyBid.com mentioned is on the penny auction guide site Ritbid.com “Your #1 Penny Auction Websites Guide.”

Awhile back we did a traceroute & whois search on the Ritbid.com site and we found that they were connected to the now defunct penny auction site reetbid.co.uk (see whois data below).

Penny auction ReetBid.co.uk used the PHPPennyauction script and  it looked as if they had the bot bidder script enabled – Click here for more details & click here for screenshots to learn how we knew about the bots on ReetBid.  To those new to penny auctions: a bot bidder is an automated computer bidder that is set up by penny auction owners to bid against real paying bidders in an effort to drive prices and obtain more bids on auctions.

In the article found on Ritbid.com on TummyBid.com, the writer tells us:

“I wanted to order some food the other day and as I was looking for some voucher codes I found this website called TummyBid.com .

Yes thats right, its a penny auction for pizza and food! At first I was amazed by how they manage to send all these meals on time, so I decided to register and try them out.

As I joined TummyBid I bought some bids for starters (10 bids) and then I started bidding. I won a meal with my third meal which was shocking !

So I went to my account and paid the item via PayPal.

In my account next to the meal I won there was a button called “Order Now” so I clicked and a person took my order. They ordered my meal from Domino’s Pizza and I got my meal in 30 minutes ! Fantastic service and fantastic Idea!
TummyBid is the first and the only food penny auction website in the Internet. “

What We Found Odd

The domain for TummyBid.com was purchased on April 14th, 2010, and there are currently no active auctions, nor does TummyBid display a history of any ended auctions.

When looking up  the whois information for Ritbid.com, we found that the URL registrant’s e-mail address is zbijanz [at] gmail [dot] com, similarly, the registrant’s e-mail address for TummyBid.com is zbijanz [at] gmail [dot] com.

Though TummyBid.com is a neat concept and idea for a penny auction site, we feel that it is not very cool for them to be posting what seems to be a shill/fake testimonial on their very own penny auction guide site categorized in their “Approved/Trusted Penny Auction” section.

Also of note, all four of RitBid.com’s “Approved/Trusted” penny auction sites; MissPenny, Swoopo, BidRivals and BidHere are linked with affiliate marketing links.

Here’s how we know that Ritbid.com, defunct bot penny auction reetbid.co.uk and soon to open TummyBid.com are all connected:

The following whois information is from domaintools.com:

Domain Name: RITBID.COM (whois screenshot)
Created on: 07-Sep-09
Expires on: 07-Sep-10
Last Updated on: 01-Jan-10

Administrative Contact:
zoroaster, bijan

289G
Richmond Road
London, London TW1 5DX
United Kingdom
07891236576

Domain Name: TUMMYBID.COM (whois screenshot)

Created on: 14-Apr-10
Expires on: 14-Apr-11
Last Updated on: 14-Apr-10

Administrative Contact:
zamani, bijan
none
17 farriers way
Dunstable
Bedfordshire, none LU5 5FF
United Kingdom
07891236576

Domain name: REETBID.CO.UK (whois screenshot)

Registrant:
bijan zoroaster

Registrant’s address:
289G
Richmond Road
London
TW1 5DX
United Kingdom

What do you think is going on here?

Discuss TummyBid.com and all other penny auctions in our forum!

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Related posts:

  1. Phony Penny Auction Watch Copycat MyAuctionWebsite.com Possibly RedBread.co.uk
  2. Sonik Technologies Purveyor of Bot Penny Auction Script Starts Shill “Watchdog” Site WatchPennyAuctionScams.com
  3. Are Penny Auctions Ebid4Cash & Ebidshopper Legit?
  4. Penny Auction BidInstant.com Copies QuiBids’ Testimonials
  5. The Ultimate Guide to Penny Auctions for the Complete Beginner

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: