Have you bid on Canada based penny auction UWinBid.com?
Since it’s running on the PHPpennyauction.com script, we took a look at the site with Firebug ( a free web developer tool by Mozilla) and found that the current bidders do not have e-mail addresses displayed in the e-mail address field, (this is a common bug with this particular penny auction script, so user’s e-mail addresses are often exposed- see more instances of this) take a look:

Notice how the users that are currently bidding have no e-mail addresses, we’ve told you before that with the PhpPennyAuction script there is an admin bidder console (bot bidders):
and e-mail addresses are not needed, if you were to register you would be required to provide an e-mail address.
Just to see whether or not the e-mail addresses just happened to not be exposed we had a real bidder place a bid:
See how the e-mail address of a real bidder is exposed?
According to Alexa.com, uwinbid.com’s traffic ranking is 27, 763,807! This has to be the highest Alexa Ranking we’ve seen yet!
UWinBid.com displays 278 ended auctions and have 6 auctions ending simultaneously all for items valued at $100+, two HDTVs, a PS3, Sony Vaio and more. The Sony Bravia auction has already taken in 1,865 bids, the Panasonic 32gb HD Camcorder, 1,503
There’s currently a high volume of bidders whose usernames & bidding patterns seem, in our opinion, to be programmed autobots (shill bidders):
- TheRat,
- angie,
- totaly,
- Fullservice,
- Kawa,
- wayside,
- silhouette,
- Hager,
- Bavarian,
- Artic,
- Flanagan,
- Hunter11,
- movingout,
- frenchy,
- zimmer,
- Machinist,
- Boxin, Montana, Nimkeey, and Nimkee, mollaree, among many others.
Have you bid on UWinBid.com? What have your experiences been with this penny auction?
Discuss this in our penny auction forum!
Related posts:








and 




{ 5 comments… read them below or add one }
Darn! I wanted to like this site! lol
Thanks PAW!!
This site is a total scam its is glitchy and will take ur money and u will never win thats for sure it is like vegas only ur odds are 0%
The site suspended my account and still using their bots to lure unsuspecting bidders to their site. The site will never send out the items anyway. It’s just a front to make the site looked legitimate.
the site did sent the items I won. they even called me because one item was back order; they offered to replace it or I could wait for the item which I received 2 weeks after. So no it’s not a scam and if you choose to play that game it’s your choice nobody is forcing you………….
to all you skeptics, I won a 27″ iMac off this site!!