Ziinga.com Seems Odd

by Amanda Lee on June 21, 2010

Share on TwitterShare on TumblrSubmit to StumbleUponDigg ThisSubmit to redditShare via email

Have you tried the UK penny auction Ziinga.com/uk?

Not to be confused with Zynga poker, Ziinga is owned by Auction Management Ltd., Suite 238, Vincenti Buildings, 14/19 Strait Street, Valletta VLT 08, Malta.  However, we did find FlopGroup Ltd. also located at the same address as Ziinga, but in a different suite, we did see the bidder “FlopFlop” place a few bids on an auction this morning. Coincidence? Not sure.

Ziinga is currently “auctioning” 8 big ticket items,  all of which are ending simultaneously. Items include an iPhone 4, 40″ Samsung 3D TV,  an iPad,  Nikon D90,  an HTC Desire, and an Omega Watch.

According to WebsiteOutlook.com, Ziinga has a daily pageview (est.) of 9838, whereas a large penny auction (that only has one auction ending at a time right now and has them spanned out by at least 5 minutes, has an estimated  58,151 pageviews, does Ziinga have enough traffic to justify the large volume of bidders?

If you watch Ziinga’s auctions you will see that the vast majority of their items have bidders that come in at 2 seconds.

Could this be an indication of admin autobidders (shills)?

Let us know what you think and what your experiences have been with Ziinga.

Discuss Ziinga and all other penny auctions, lowest unique bid and dutch auctions in our penny auction forum!

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Related posts:

  1. PennyPurses Turns 2!
  2. 2 AM and I’m still awake bidding on Penny Auctions?
  3. Where was everyone today!?
  4. Bid Rodeo Adds Afternoon Auctions
  5. Disappearing Bidders

{ 137 comments… read them below or add one }

David Keener December 10, 2011 at 9:32 am

When canceling w/in 2 hours I was told I could cancel the subscription for a 39.99 penalty. The inference in their communication was it had also to do with my refund. This is where each word needed clear objective interpretation.
They claimed my ‘platinum’ membership came with cancellation cost.

After challenging this I was told the membership fee would still cost 99.00 and cost 39.99 to cancell.

Still no specific mention of refund.

Reply

Stephanie December 21, 2011 at 6:59 pm

THEY DID THE SAME TO ME!!! CAN ANYTHING BE DONE ABOUT IT THOUGH THE CHEATING SCAMING BASTARDS??!!!!!

Reply

Marcie December 30, 2011 at 2:19 am

They told me the same thing. Did you ever get anything from them? They just took $100 out today which I was taken aback. I should cancel & be smart.

Reply

Kevin Kelly December 14, 2011 at 2:49 pm

Ziinga is a SCAM! They sign you up on the pretext of getting an IPod Shuffle and a 7 day trial membership. You enter in your credit card details but here is the sting in the tail. They sign you up for a “platinum” membership without your consent which is fraud and absurd. After all it was supposed to be a “trial” membership which you could cancel within 7 days right? Within your account there is no place to update payment information so now they can charge your card for whatever they like and you have a “platinum” membership that you never consented to! Their auctions are dubious at best. They seem to stay frozen at 1 second for far too long and then they magically get more bids?! I smell admin supported shill bidding here. If you have been conned by these scammers the first thing to do is to contact your bank and get your card stopped and reissued, then they can’t milk it for any more money. If you have already been charged for the IPod or the like file a chargeback for non receipt as they use 3D Secure to process payments so they can’t get hit with fraud chargebacks (how ironic is that!). If you have been billed for the monthly “membership” charge them back too for non receipt as well, because you haven’t actually received anything and they have no signature either. The best thing is that each chargeback costs these fraudsters $25 a hit. If they say about a “cancellation” fee, they are based in Malta so assuming you don’t live in Malta I wouldn’t worry about them coming after you for it. This site is a con that needs to be shut down.

Reply

Patrick December 18, 2011 at 2:07 am

Hi my name is Patrick from South Africa.Tell me is it only for the uk or across the world,let me know thanx.

Reply

Jesse December 22, 2011 at 7:59 pm

This web site is a serious scam . Do not give your info to them they take money out for unspoken fees. ONCE AGAIN THIS IS A SCAM

Reply

Cleon January 2, 2012 at 4:33 pm

i was jus about put in my credit card # but after googling more about i decided no to

Reply

jo from Australia January 5, 2012 at 11:56 pm

I was offered a free camera for $1.50 postage so signed up. The “conditions” sid nothing about fees or cancellation fees. It was only when I tried to access the site and phoned them and they helped get my “account” operating, that I did a “chat with Joseph” and asked it there was any fees. The reply was $89.99 a month for three months. Then I emailed and told them to cancel account, THAT was when the issue of a $42 cancellation fee came up … less the refund of $1.50 postage = $40.50, So I told them if they send me the camera I’ll pay the cancellation fee. I’m waiting to hear from them/. And I went to my bank and cancelled my credit card. Get a new one next week.

Reply

martin January 11, 2012 at 5:35 am

I TO became a ziinga casualty on the 24th december i caught on quick and got on to my bank within 2 hours of the purchace from ziinga but the bank would not stop payment lloyds tsb so ziinga charged me £12 .1 for my coffee machine plus£1.00 PLUS £59.99 IN FEES i did not want.i cancelled my acount with ziinga within 10 minutes and have the proof.PLEASE CONTACT .THE INTERNET FRAUD SITE ABOUT ZIINGA also beware they have other sites.

Reply

Selina January 14, 2012 at 8:27 pm

I am in trouble then, because I did bid and won a samsung phone which I was asked to pay for shipping. I did and they are asking me for copies of my ID and credit card and that got me scared. I had a chat with someone called Ivy who said to me that without those documents I wouldn’t get the phone.
Well its better they take the 6.04 amount than giving them my info.

Reply

jo from Australia January 17, 2012 at 12:51 am

I threatened them with contacting the ACCC (Australia) and reporting them for harassment and fraud. Haven’t had any further contact

Reply

Amanda Lee January 17, 2012 at 1:22 am

What happened?

Reply

anne selley January 17, 2012 at 4:05 am

I had the same problem, my card details and bank clearance wasnt enough and they wanted scans of my credit card etc, how can they say they cant send the auction item without all the extra scanned info, passport card, both sides etc, but they can take your money with just that info!! I contacted uk action fraud and the police! I cancelled the won camera and they still want to charge me, I am not a happy bunny

Reply

Evan Cusick January 18, 2012 at 4:12 am

I was got by the theiving bastards too. I am currently on my way to Malta to murder them and their children.

Reply

Evan Cusick January 18, 2012 at 4:19 am
Tammy January 24, 2012 at 3:27 am

I also got scanned got offered a ipod 4 $1.50 gave then my credit card details
Then it appeared $89.99 like wtf how did $1,50 turn into $89.99
Im so angry atm as they got my mother also i didn’t have the funds in the accound so used her credit card thro my account so she didn’t sign up so the $20 turned into an extra $89.99 4 my mum
So will be going thro the bank 2 take it further

Reply

jo from Australia January 26, 2012 at 10:33 pm

Answer to Amanda Lee 17 January 2012

After I threatened them with the ACCC ….. and again told them they were not getting anything from me. I also informed them my bank account had been closed and I had moved to another bank, they left me alone.
ALL I really did was cancel my visa card telling the bank I’d been gotten at by a scammer. Within four days I had a new card and just set up a new visa account. End of story.

ALL YOU PEOPLE SHOULD IMMEDIATELY CANCEL THE VISA CARD AND LET THEM KNOW YOU’LL HAVE THEM UP FOR HARASSMENT.

Reply

Ross...Australia January 27, 2012 at 7:29 pm

I too have been scammed by them and it also seems they have sold my email address as I am getting around 20 pieces of spam every day where before I cancelled my Ziinga membership I was not getting any spam..BEWARE OF THIS SITE

Reply

jo from Australia January 31, 2012 at 12:54 am

got my bank statement (old cancelled acct) They took $1.55. End of story. ALL you guys just need to cancell your accounts.

Reply

PMK IL/USA February 1, 2012 at 11:23 am

I TOO JUST RECEIVED A CALL FROM MY CREDIT CARD COMPANY ASKING IF I JUST MADE A PURCHASE AT 4AM W/ZINGA/UK I SAID NO AND THEY SAID THERE WAS ANOTHER CHARGE LAST MONTH I DIDNT SEE AND FOR ME TO CONTACT THEM! THEY ARE CXLing MY CARD AND REISSUING ME ANOTHER BUT I HAD TO CONTACT ZINGA WHERE DO I START?

Reply

Ern - Australia February 5, 2012 at 8:55 pm

Won an Auction with the online company zinga.com for a digital camera – great purches – made the transaction – after entering my card details and finnised the transaction – at the very bottom of page lists a 7 day free trial of platium account – with the option of 3 months at au&89.99 each month ! Took the option to cancel but no reply even after many attempts. Only method is to cancel account card, this is very disturbing ! As many others have stated – if you make the mistake i did – please cancel you card before large amounts are removed from you account -

Reply

teresa safapour February 8, 2012 at 4:51 pm

nearly fell for this but virgin islands and malta made me think something not right.hence did my research found this site.sorry for all those who lost money……………………..

Reply

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: